If you have a fire or water emergency, please call us now at (508) 234-3399

To have the optimal experience while using this site, you will need to update your browser. You may want to try one of the following alternatives:

Fire & Water - Cleanup & Restoration

Open burning in Massachusetts

5/29/2020 (Permalink)

Open burning laws in Massachusetts, fire crossed out Contact your local fire department to determine if open burning is allowed in your city or town.

Open burning is prohibited in 22 cities and towns in Massachusetts. To best determine if open burning is allowed in your city or town, contact your local fire department! 

If you are open burning, you need to obtain a permit from the fire chief or warden. They will determine when it is safe to burn on a day to day basis, and if anything changed throughout the day, they may change their decision as well. It will depend on weather among other factors. 

Open burning must be

  • minimum of 75 feet away from any building
  • Between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m.
    • From January 15th to May 1st 
  • Be closest to the material burning 

Materials that CAN be burned 

  • Forest debris
  • Brush
  • Driftwood
  • Bush or tree prunings 

Materials that can NOT be burned 

  • Any materials from commercial or industrial land clearing operations
  • Hay
  • Leaves
  • Tires
  • Tree stumps
  • Construction material or debris 

How to properly ignite a fire 

  • Use paper and/or kindling and slowly add the larger pieces of wood
  • NEVER use gasoline, tiki torch oil, or other flammable liquids

By gradually adding kindling and smaller pieces of wood, you can gradually build up the fire without it getting too large or out of control. 

ALWAYS keep fire extinguishing materials close by. This can include a fire extinguisher, and a source of water. 

You may be thinking "what about a fire pit?" According to mass.gov, unless a fire put is being used for cooking, they are subject to the MassDEP open burn regulation. If you are using a fire pit for cooking, it must be 

  • A reasonable size 
  • Away from anything flammable 
  • Observed and tended to by someone 18 years or older 

If you notice any change in weather conditions, it's in your best interest to put the fire out as soon as possible. You don't want to wait for the fire department to come to your home and tell you to extinguish the fire. If the fire does get out of control, call the fire department right away to prevent any damage. According to mass.gov "you could be held liable for firefighting costs, as well as face fines or jail time, if you burn illegally or allow a fire to get out of control". 

It's important that you follow all rules, regulations, and precautions when it comes to burning a fire. You can prevent injury and damage. 

For any fire damage restoration and cleanup needs, give us a call at (508) 234-3399, and visit us online at https://www.SERVPROsouthernworcestercounty.com/fire-smoke-damage-restoration for more information! 

Other News

View Recent Posts